A song for you

I see you have found my old park bench.

No please have seat. I don’t often socialize nowadays and I’d be good to have someone to talk to. What was it? Oh yes, I like sitting here. It’s tucked away and secluded. Nah. I don’t mind these overgrown shrubs. It kind of gives this area of the park a different vibe. Gardeners? Ha! Nobody hangs around here anyway so I don’t think anybody bothers.

Sometimes I wonder why they placed her here. It’s a waste of money installing park benches in areas where people wouldn’t wander and sit. They could have put up a fancy lampost instead. Or a vending machine.

But I like the calm. That’s why I’m here all the time. How about you? I bet you took a wrong turn and got lost. Well, I don’t believe in coincidences. I like to think that everything happens for a pupose. Maybe like me, you needed to come here as well.

Yeah this bench is a bit worn and faded now. She must’ve been here for years. I often think of the people who got “lost” and stumbled into her. How many sat here by themselves and silently recounted their stories in confidence? You know stuff people wouldn’t tell anyone else..

..well at least she knows mine.

You might not believe it now but I had someone sitting here with me before. Those were happy days. Different times. I think even these overgrown bushes had flowers back then. And the footpaths weren’t as muddy.

But one day she left without saying goodbye. I was confused and hurt because I thought she was happy with me. At least I was with her. After she’d gone I’d sit here every afternoon and wait for her, whispering all sorts of prayers. Hoping that the wind would somehow bring them to her so she’d get to hear them. And maybe she’d come back. You see we were really happy and I wanted to know what happened to us and what happened to her..

..(Falling leaves)

Ah they’re lovely. You don’t like them do you? They say that when leaves fall around you, it’s a sign that the gods are listening. Whether they care or not, I don’t exactly know. Superstitions, yes – but with a broken heart you’d believe anything anyone throws at you. Even dead tree leaves.

No she hasn’t returned. Or maybe not yet. I still keep hoping though. Maybe if I hope hard enough..

I just find it difficult to, you know..move on. I pretend it’s fine but I’m really not. It’s a game I’m getting good at nowadays. Kind of like those magicians in a circus. You know that everything’s a set-up but you still clap and enjoy the show imagining it’s real.

So I’ll see you around. Glad we met. You can have your turn sitting here at my bench. It’s so quiet here and you’ll have a chance to get your thoughts together. Maybe the leaves will fall around you as well ..

Until the next time. Peace out!

logo-grey

A SONG FOR YOU

They say that when leaves fall around you, it’s a sign that the gods are listening. Whether they care or not, I don’t exactly know. Superstitions, yes – but with a broken heart you’d believe anything anyone throws at you. Even dead tree leaves.

Instrumental Music & Artwork by Allan Olinares . Original Bench image courtesy of x2thed
Leave a Reply

